Dear UnSent 3

Dear UnSent;

We broke up in 2011 on a Sunday in mid-January.  Thank you for being polite until after my birthday, but that didn’t make it hurt any less.  We hadn’t seen one another the previous night – I had worked late, so was all puppy-dog tails to see you.  When I arrived I was greet by your friend unceremoniously handing me my things.  I was numb and needed to understand, so putting my belongings down took out my phone.  Unfortunately, all I received was a generic text stating the official dissolution.

I should have predicted the break-up because of the distance for three and a quarter months.  I persisted by being better at playing house as a new year’s resolution, but it was all too little, too late, and now suspiciously out of character.  Your apprehensive glances telegraphed the to end our relationship.

I covered up my exuberance, believing that a demeanor of cold detachment decision making would be impressive, because in my fantasy of you I saw strong and decisive; weighed down by another’s gushing emotion; a man that saw devotion as a flaw.  Instead I became frigid and distracted with constant repair on my ice-walls.  I never learned to thaw for those I care about.

Sincerely,

Carl

Leave a Reply

