Aeon Flux

Aeon.Flux.23Aeon Flux was my time, 30 minutes where no one bothered me or tried to have time.  Similarly, my father had his wrestling and my mother had her knitting and crafting shows.  In a family where parents were healthily involved in their children’s lives, having time that was private and uninterruptible was precious.  It felt awesome to be 12 years old watching MTV, and it felt better that no one bothered me.

Mom had watched Aeon Flux once because she wanted to know why I stayed up late on Fridays.  She found it too weird and went to bed, saying If I don’t understand it so go ahead and watch.  I felt smart because at 12 years old I still thought my parents were the smartest people in the world, and to be engrossed in something a parent found difficult was the greatest feeling in the world.  I felt like an adult!

Aeon Flux is the ideal a femme fatale, a fetish that was a malleable dominatrix.  She had designed her persona to be any fantasy.  She always had what people wanted and took what they had.  She is a pragmatist with a heart of gold having three back-up plans to her back-up plan.

Leave a Reply

